• My thoughts on the DO

    Starting practice is one of the most precious moments. It can be very exciting and eventually leads to fabulous growth. Now is the very moment to decide if to go all the way through.

    When I started judo practice I decided, that I would have done it for the rest of my life and that my Master would have been a constant presence in my thoughts.

    Fundamental to the DO is one ingredient: COMMITMENT, indicating, that self-discipline and persistence must be kept regardless of how hard it is.

    Practice puts us under constant stress, but without it we would never be able to develop our personality.

    Commitment and self-discipline are precious as gold for those seeking the DO.

  • In the Sixties

    1960: Bruno Carmeni throwing his opponent with seoi nage

  • More than 40 years later!

    2007: Bruno Carmeni throwing his opponent with seoi nage

Will Power and Creativity Within Judo Part 5

The Kiai – I remember, that during the judo fight I had the habit to shout out the so called kiai. My friends and part of the spectators thought, that I wanted to show my determination, sometimes they even thought, that I was showing off or that I tried to demolish my opponent psychologically. The kiai was nothing else than a way to get rid of the emotions of the moment, it was a way to cover up my fear and to give me courage. In other words my shouting was a subconscious way to dominate my insecurity.  This is why I am convinced, that “one cannot really be strong if he does not have weak spots”.

1963 Velletri Carmeni vs. Ikeda at International Judo Meeting Lazio-Japan

Today the fighting time is between 4/5 minutes, when I competed the preliminaries lasted 6 minutes, the semifinals 8 and the finals 10 and there was no repecheage. During this time I tried really hard to perform what I had learned during training and thought, that the same about my opponent. Very often knowing who I had to face in competition, I rained in a specific way taking the strong and weak spots of my opponent into consideration. Even though I underwent exhausting trainings with special exercises for my legs and feet, since the ashi-waza were my specials, without of course forgetting the arms, I do not think, that I would have reached all these results if I would not have had an appropriate will power.  

Physical Injuries – Besides all the personal positive results during my carrier as an athlete I also remember several injuries. I got hurt on both meniscus, on the crossed strings, bone cracks on my elbows, shoulders, fingers and toes. So many, that some are still bothering today. All this has allowed me to learn how my body reacts to pain and wounds and how much time it takes to recover.

1964 Tenri - Bruno Carmeni Treated by Tadahiro Nomura's Uncle with Seifiuku Jutsu During Judo Training

I am not really proud of my “damages”, it is better to never get hurt! But I think it is useful to consider the causes, that are normally to be found deep inside, even if sometimes tied to a series of random circumstances. Sometimes I got injured because I was training in a different hall and I was not used to the tatami, sometimes I was upset, both physically or mentally or I was hurting because I stressed something too much insisting on a specific action.   

In order to prevent an accident it is very useful to be aware of both ones physical and mental conditions.  Only then it is possible to understand, that it is better to stop before entering in an unsustainable psychological field, which can leave some heavier traces than a physical injury.

When forced to stop many do not have a strong will power to recover immediately afterwards. In the first month they want to start practicing again, but if the situation goes on for the second month they start to be discouraged and to have some doubts concerning their physical abilities. If they reach the third month they are so tired mentally, that they think to stop judo practice and if the situation persists then they really abandon.  Personally I have never followed this pattern. I have always believed, that there are no injuries, that after the due recovery time, that could stop my return to training. 

1965 Tenri - Bruno Carmeni at Regular Daily Judo Training

Who abandons is normally psychologically weak. Who surrenders to injuries cannot think to win in competition. Due to the fact, that within martial arts one is trained to dominate oneself, therefore to cede to injuries is a reason to feel ashamed. It is the reason why when the body after an accident is not efficient anymore one should put more effort into revalorizing the spirit, in order to come back and perform outstanding judo techniques again.

Leave a Reply

