• My thoughts on the DO

    Starting practice is one of the most precious moments. It can be very exciting and eventually leads to fabulous growth. Now is the very moment to decide if to go all the way through.

    When I started judo practice I decided, that I would have done it for the rest of my life and that my Master would have been a constant presence in my thoughts.

    Fundamental to the DO is one ingredient: COMMITMENT, indicating, that self-discipline and persistence must be kept regardless of how hard it is.

    Practice puts us under constant stress, but without it we would never be able to develop our personality.

    Commitment and self-discipline are precious as gold for those seeking the DO.

  • In the Sixties

    1960: Bruno Carmeni throwing his opponent with seoi nage

  • More than 40 years later!

    2007: Bruno Carmeni throwing his opponent with seoi nage

Judo Techniques – 26th Edition International Judo Tournament Tre Torri 2010

My friend Corrado Croceri has invited me several times to the International Judo Tournament “Tre Torri”, which has been taking place for the last 26 years in Italy and is well known for the outstanding judo techniques, that are performed there every year.  Unfortunately for several reasons I have never been able to assist. But this time I finally made it.

Corrado Croceri handing an award to Bruno Carmeni at 2010 Tre Torri

On Saturday 12th and Sunday 13th June 2010 I went with my wife, Aida, to Porto Sant’Elpidio and was delighted not only to enjoy some exceptional judo throws in the preliminary rounds, but especially also in the finals.

I have spent my whole life on the tatami and from the very beginning my focus has always been on performing judo techniques in the smoothest possible way: reaching the maximum result with the minimum effort, which is what judo is all about.

Bruno Carmeni at the Award Ceremony of 66kg Tre Torri 2010

My compliments go to Corrado Crocieri who has made a very specific choice when he decided to organize this International Judo Tournament: he has always privileged quality rather than quantity, which is rather rare to find, when you attend most of the competitions you find.

It has become “normal” to hold tournaments where there are hundreds and hundreds of athletes, where you enter the competition hall early in the morning and leave late at night. Competitions where there are 4 or even 6 tatamis and you are unable to concentrate on single actions as there are 4 to 6 fights going on  at the same time.

Bruno Carmeni awarding Niklas von Freeden Gold Medal 66kg Tre Torri 2010

At the Tre Torri Tournament, which was held at Porto Sant’Elpidio last week-end, I really enjoyed the performances of the athletes coming from different nations. The number of ippons was very high and so the technical level.

I certainly did not get bored and I wanted to share with you some of the best moments at this tournament by watching the video, hoping that you will enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

